The Irony

Irony – the expression of one’s meaning by using language that normally signifies the opposite, typically for humorous or emphatic effect.

– a state of affairs or an event that seems deliberately contrary to what one expects and is often amusing as a result.

I was in love. You told me you were in love too. So you say. Those three words are something that you don’t just throw around as if you’re saying “hi” or “bye”. When I said those words I meant it.

You just threw it away. I was already hurt from before and you knew it because I told you. You showed me you weren’t like them, yet in the end you showed your true colors.

My mom made the decision to leave and there you were “sad” so you say. I believe it’s because you no longer had someone you could toy around with. Or because you knew I loved you to the point where I just couldn’t leave, I was the one you just kept around.

I wanted something serious and to you I was just a little game.

Months pass and we clearly don’t talk anymore. I just can’t let you go because you affected my life. You made me change so you could like me. It was the dumbest thing I’ve ever done. You changed my perspective on people where now I see them for who they really are. I was so damn blind.

Now you’re on Twitter talking about how you’re tired of being single. Being single isn’t the move. Tired of these boring females. Need a girl I can introduce to my mom. Blah blah Blah. I GAVE YOU EVERYTHING! Regardless of the fact that I left you took advantage of me while we were “together”. I was the girl you wanted to introduce to your mom. Over time I realized you were just a waste of time. My time.

So here we are now I’m living life being as happy as I can possibly be. You’re now in a relationship with a girl who makes you happy. At this point that’s all I could want for you. That’s always what I wanted for you. Happiness.

Now that I just sit back and observe I finally understand it. You clearly weren’t the you, you used to be. You’ve grown and changed. I just came at the wrong time. Or maybe I didn’t because everyone seems to think that I was the one who changed you.

While we were “together” you changed for the better and I changed because you could say I was vulnerable. Either way I’d like to think that we’re in better places.

 

Leave a Reply

